Self Help/Managing Library Content

Organizing Content with Folders

Tara Clark
posted this on September 28, 2010 01:11 PM

The content in SlideRocket’s Presentation Library, Slide Library, Media Library, or Theme Library can be organized using folders.
There are two types of folders: 

  • My Folders is used for organizing personal content that can then be collaborated with other users on an item-by-item basis 
  • Shared Folders is used for organizing collections of content that can be collaborated with other users as a set. When a folder in Shared Folders is collaborated with another user, that user is given access to all items in that folder. Shared Folders acts as a hub between multiple users, allowing groups to collaborate efficiently on a set of items. For more information about collaborating using Shared Folders click here.

Before building a folder structure it is important to think about how you want all of your content to be organized. For example, do you want to organize content into folders by team or by project?

 

This document covers

 

My Folders

My Folders is used for organizing personal content that can then be collaborated with other users on an item-by-item basis. Each library contains a [My Items] folder under My Folders ([My Presentations] in the Presentation Library, [My Slides] in the Slide Library, etc). When a new item is created or imported it is placed in the [My Items] folder by default. The item can then be dragged and dropped into a different folder in either My Folders or Shared Folders

 

Creating a New Folder

  1. Click Add button next to My Folders
  2. Type Name
  3. Click Ok

 

 

Creating a New Subfolder

  1. Click folder in which to add subfolder
  2. Click Add button next to My Folders or right-click folder and select New Folder...
  3. Type Name 
  4. Click Ok

 

ADVANCED NOTE: A subfolder can also be created by dragging and dropping one folder into another folder.

 

 

Renaming a Folder

  1. Right-click folder and select Edit Properties...
  2. Type new Name 
  3. Click Ok

 

Deleting a Folder

  1. Right-click folder and select Delete Folder
  2. Click Yes

  

ADVANCED NOTES:

  • Folders cannot be deleted if they contain content. Remove all items from a folder to be able to delete it
  • The [My Items] folders cannot be deleted or renamed
  • Folders can easily be organized by dragging them to new locations. For example, a folder can be dragged onto another folder to create a subfolder 

 

 

Shared Folders

Shared Folders is used for organizing sets of content that can be collaborated with other users. When a folder in Shared Folders is collaborated with another user, that user is given access to all items in that folder. Users can be given either View or Edit Permissions to a shared folder.

 

[User Shared Folders]

When an individual presentation, slide, asset file, or theme is shared with another user, it will show in the recipient’s account in a subfolder within [User Shared Folders]. The subfolder will automatically be named after the user who created the item. Click on the name of a user to see all of the presentations created by that user which have been shared with you. 

  

ADVANCED NOTES: 

  • Shared presentations in [User Shared Folders] cannot be moved to another folder
  • Subfolders cannot be added to [User Shared Folders]

 

 

Creating a New Shared Folder

  1. Click Add button next to Shared Folders
  2. Type Name
  3. Click Ok
  4. Set Who can access this folder
    • Only me: Folder contents are private and can only be viewed and edited by the creator
    • Everyone in my company: All users in company can view and edit items in folder
    • The following people and groups only: Type username or email for an individual or name of group then click Add button . Click down arrow next to Add button to view list of all users and groups in company 
  5. For any users or groups added, permission level can be changed from Edit to View. Users with View permission cannot make any changes to presentation 

  6. Click Ok

 

ADVANCED NOTE: If the option Everyone in my company is selected the permission level is automatically set to Edit. To restrict everyone in the company to View, add the Everyone group under The following people and groups only and then set the permission level for that group to View.

 

 

Creating a New Shared Subfolder

  1. Click folder in which to add subfolder
  2. Click Add button next to My Folders or right-click folder and select New Folder...
  3. Type Name
  4. Click Ok
  5. Set Who can access this folder
    • Only me: Folder contents are private and can only be viewed and edited by the creator
    • Everyone in my company: All users in company can view and edit items in folder
    • The following people and groups only: Type username or email for an individual or name of group then click Add button. Click down arrow next to Add button to view list of all users and groups in company
  6. Click Ok

 

ADVANCED NOTE: If the option Everyone in my company is selected the permission level is automatically set to Edit. To restrict everyone in the company to View, add the Everyone group under The following people and groups only and then set the permission level for that group to View.

 

 

Renaming a Shared Folder

  1. Right-click folder and select Edit Properties...
  2. Type new Name
  3. Click Ok

 

 

Adding or Removing Collaborators from a Shared Folder

  1. Right-click folder and select Collaborate...
  2. Remove person or group by clicking Remove button next to their name
  3. Add person or group by typing their name or email and clicking Add button
  4. Click Ok

 

 

Deleting a Shared Folder

  1. Right-click folder and select Delete Folder
  2. Click Yes

  

ADVANCED NOTES:

  • All items added to a shared folder automatically inherit the folder’s permissions
  • Dragging an item (presentation, slide, asset or theme) from the Shared Folders section into the My Folders section will remove the folder permissions that previously existed for that item  
  • Shared folders cannot be deleted if they contain content. Remove all items from a folder to be able to delete it
  • The [My Items] folders cannot be deleted or renamed
  • Shared folders can easily be organized by dragging them to new locations. For example, drag and drop a folder onto another folder to create a subfolder 
  • To unselect a folder, use Ctrl-click (Windows) or Cmd-click (Mac)

 

 

 
Topic is closed for comments